My True Love Gave To Me – Various Authors

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday StoriesMy True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Here is a short review for each story:


1) Midnights – Rainbow Rowell

★★★★★ 5 Stars.
It was really cute and I instantly started shipping them from the first few pages! Many short stories make you want more in the end but not this one. It begins and ends so perfectly!


The Lady & The Fox – Kelly Link

★★☆☆☆☆ 2 Stars.
I was enjoying the mystery until I didn’t anymore. And in the end, I still didn’t get it. It wasn’t necessarily boring, it just wasn’t good and I was left very confused.


Angels in the Snow – Matt de la Pena

★★★★☆ 4 Stars.
This was really great. I really liked the characters and how different they were from each other. The only complaint I have is, as much as I respect and understand the ending, I wish there was more. This is the first time I’ve read anything by this author and it won’t be the last.


Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me – Jenny Han

★★★½☆ 3.5 Stars
Nooooo! Why did it have to end there? Jenny Han, there has to be a part two somewhere in that brain of yours and I want to read it! This was very nice and felt the most like Christmas to me because of Santa Clause, the Elves & the North Pole. Also, Jenny is one of my favorite authors! This could’ve been a book all on its own! But why did it have to end there? I get it, but…no. 😦


It’s A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown – Stephanie Perkins

★★★★★ 5 Stars.
Stephanie Perkins is another one of my all time favorite authors and I will read anything she writes. This story is a great example why. She writes characters that you instantly fall in love with and situations that are absolutely no where near boring. I really loved this and was sad when I it was over.


Your Temporary Santa – David Levithan

★★★½☆ 3.5 Stars.
Oh man! Do not get me wrong, I did really enjoy this one, but in the end it didn’t answer anything. I don’t know… I liked the characters and what I think the story was, but in the end I wished it was executed more properly.


Krampuslauf – Holly Black

★★★☆☆ 3 Stars.
The story was fun and funny and I was rooting for all the characters in the end. But once again, I didn’t get the whole thing as a whole. Is it because I don’t know what a Krampuslauf is? Is it real? Lol


What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? – Gayle Forman

★★★★★ 5 Stars.
This story made me smile. Lol. It really did. I’m a sucker for well written dialogue and lovable characters and this story definitely had both. 🙂


Beer Buckets And Baby Jesus – Myra McEntire

★★★★★ 5 Stars.
This was adorable! I don’t understand why some people skimmed over this story. I really don’t! One of my favorites!


Welcome To Christmas, CA – Kiersten White

★★★★★ 5 Stars.
Oh no! I really thought that Midnights by Rainbow Rowell would end up being my favorite story out of this entire collection because I was reaching the end…but then there was this magical story! Seriously, this was really great! I felt like I read an actual novel instead of a short story! So full of detail and character development. I loved it so much! Where have you been hiding, Kiersten White? 😉


Star Of Bethlehem – Ally Carter

★★★★☆ 4 Stars.
Gosh, I was in love with this story from the very beginning! A story about a girl running away from her life and has no idea where her plane is about to land. When she gets there, it isn’t exactly the escape plan she was hoping for and is surprised by what is waiting for her there.

It’s heartwarming, funny & really made me smile. I loved the mystery, I loved the setting & I loved all the characters!


The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer – Laini Taylor

★☆☆☆☆ 1 Star.
The most disappointing way to end this book, in my opinion. I did not love this story. Maybe because it was SO different than the other eleven stories? Maybe because I didn’t care not even a bit for any of the characters? Or maybe because in a book about holiday stories, this one just didn’t have a holiday feel to it (which, sure, it was about Christmas, but only spoke of it once or twice). I honestly will probably re read this story again at another time but as for now, I’m sorry to say it’s a 1 star rating from me for now.

This was my first Laini Taylor story I’ve ever read but that doesn’t discourage me from reading her other books because I hear she is an amazing & genius writer and that makes me excited to read more from her, despite this story.

Well, there it is. Over all I’m rating this book 4.5 stars (5 Stars for the sake of Goodreads) because despite only two bad stories (again, only my opinion!) the book was crafted with 10 other great stories! Even the 3-star-incomplete-feeling stories were still great and very fun to read! I’ve fallen in love with all these authors storytelling and can’t wait to read more by them! Yes, Kelly Link’s story did not make me happy, but she is the only author I promised myself I wouldn’t read anything else from and that just isn’t fair. I loved every other author, and I’m giving Liani Taylor a real shot after that story, so I have to give Kelly Link’s work another shot and read something else by her because she had to be featured along side these other amazing writers for a reason, right?

Again, I loved this book and I really hope another volume comes out later this year! 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

